Book Review: Agnostic: A Spirited Manifesto by Lesley Hazleton


I had high hopes prior to reading this book, unfortunately that was it. I was left with only hope. I found the arguments are not strong enough, especially after chapter 3. The more she wrote, the more unclear, the more rambling it was to me. Too many loose strands in her arguments.

Like when she said the believers believe because they are searching for meaning, to be significant, and to this she argued “not everything must have meaning” (to which I also believe), but then in the few paragraphs ahead she negated it by writing “Instead of what’s the meaning of life, then, I’d rather ask what makes my life meaningful. Instead of a mission, I’m happy to wake up in anticipation of a new day, with work I want to return to, people I want to walk and talk with.”

Mysteries of Faith, a docuseries in Netflix, in the other hand, left more room to questions for me.

Leave a comment